As Soon as the Chickens Roost

I’ll be headed to bed. Up at 3:45 and arrived at the hospital a little before 5 am. We got checked in. Dennis got his chest and both legs ( for the graft vein) shaved. We hung out for a while, then chatted with the surgical team before Dennis was taken away about 7. I spent the next 4 hours in the cardiac waiting room. I received updates about every hour, the final one being that they were closing him up. I then went to ICU waiting room. Dr. Day stopped by and said he did 4 bypasses and everything went good. He suggested I eat lunch since it would be a while before I could see him in ICU. I had a chicken wrap from the cafeteria. I plan to pack my lunch tomorrow. About 1 I got to go to Dennis’s icu room. He was slowly waking up and still on ventilator. I’m not sure he knew I was there but he shook his head no when asked if he was ok. Once he was off the ventilator he managed a thumbs up when asked if he was ok. About 4 I decided to head home. Respiratory was there for some breathing exercises. I’ll be back early tomorrow morning.

1 thought on “As Soon as the Chickens Roost

Leave a comment